OK, short story.  I’m not a computer geek with an extensive knowledge of sitebuilding and hosting, but I did manage to build a really cool sports website over a 15 month period.  I started out using a company called Bluehost.com which was an inexpensive shared hosting plan.   Bluehost worked well for the first year while I built up my site and traffic but there came a point where I needed more, and decided upon a VPS (Virtual Private Server).

Mochahost Sucks

I actually wanted to stay with Bluehost.  I almost never had downtime and any issues I had were quickly solved by their excellent and knowledgeable support staff who are available around the clock either by live chat or telephone.  Unfortunately Bluehost only offers shared hosting, so the search was on to find a new hosting provider.

I checked out dozens of hosting companies before finally settling on Mochahost.com.  The price was pretty good (I pay around $40/month) and they boasted both live chat, technical support by submitting a ticket on their website, and a telephone number that you can call as well.

Unfortunately, none of the support the Mochahost claims to have has come as advertised.  In fact, I have been so frustrated with Mochahost that it actually spawned the creation of this blog to say something about it and hopefully save others some heartache and money.

  1. Mochahost does NOT have “Live Chat service and support”
  2. Mochahost Ticket support can take up to 4 or 5 days to get a response
  3. The phone number they offer simply goes to a voicemail.  It is virtually IMPOSSIBLE to speak live with anyone at Mochahost, even if you ask to.

First, let’s shed some light on their “Live Chat service and support”.  I have used this on 4 or 5 occasions.  Every time I get a guy named ‘Tod’ who cannot answer even the simplest questions.  In fact, ‘Tod’ has never answered even one question I have asked and every time I have used the live chat I have been told to “Open a support ticket”.

So, once you open a support ticket, you would think you might get a response within 24 hours, right?   Wrong.  Expect 2, 3, 4, maybe 5 day delays (and I’m sure there are Mochahost customers who have waited longer — would love to hear from you!).

What if your site was down?

I had an issue once where my site was down for 3 days.  It took 3 days for Mochahost to fix the issue.  Their response?  “There was an issue withthe VPS but it is now fixed”.

So, I emailed back asking what the issue was.  Figured it would be good for me to know what the problem was on their end that caused my site to be down and me to lose three days of traffic and income.  No response.

Seeing that their Live Chat was useless and customer support via submitting a ticket was like talking to a wall, I thought I’d try giving them a call.  So, I got the voicemail and kindly left my name, email address, and phone number.

It’s been over three months.  Mochahost still hasn’t returned my call.

If you’re looking for a webhost, screw Mochahost.  Heck, you’d be better off with these guys: Host Chopper

Do you have a nightmare story as a Mochahost customer?